Instantly delete email threats with 365 Threat Monitor » Free Offer
Welcome Guest | Sign In
ECTNews.com
Deliver winning CX every time
E-Commerce Times TechNewsWorld CRM Buyer LinuxInsider
Discussions

TechNewsWorld Talkback

ECT News Community   »   TechNewsWorld Talkback   »   Re: Thanks, Analysts, for Doing a High Risk, Low Reward Job

Re: Thanks, Analysts, for Doing a High Risk, Low Reward Job
Posted by: Rob Enderle 2019-11-25 08:09:31
See Full Story

I'd like to dedicate this column to the analysts out there who are fighting the good fight -- who are risking their careers, reputations, and sometimes even their lives to do the right thing, often without credit, and knowing that doing the right thing can exact incredible personal costs. Being an analyst, I'm often reminded that other jobs depend on my doing my job right. However, in the government -- particularly in the State Department, which is our best defense short of war -- lives depend on the analysts.

Re: Thanks, Analysts, for Doing a High Risk, Low Reward Job
Posted by: mod 2019-12-01 16:12:49 In reply to: Rob Enderle
Great post, Rob, and thanks for telling the story behind the story. The failure on 9/11 was actually not only within the State Department, but the NSA and the FBI, where warnings from credible internal sources were brushed off or outright ignored. Then the same thing happened again in the run-up to the 2nd Iraq War, when analysts confirmed that there were no weapons of mass destruction but their analysis was ignored because it didn't reinforce the positions of people who were determined to go to war. Analysis is not only a thankless job, but a painful one when so many deaths could have been prevented if the analysts had been listened to. We'll be paying for 9/11 and the Iraq War forever.
Jump to:
Should businesses and organizations require staff to provide proof of Covid-19 vaccination before physically coming to work?