Explore Newsletters from ECT News Network » View Samples | Subscribe
Welcome Guest | Sign In
ECTNews.com
Digital River - Talk to the Experts
E-Commerce Times TechNewsWorld CRM Buyer LinuxInsider
Discussions

MacNewsWorld Talkback

ECT News Community   »   MacNewsWorld Talkback   »   Re: Samsung Ought to Be Embarrassed and Ashamed

Re: Samsung Ought to Be Embarrassed and Ashamed
Posted by: Chris Maxcer 2011-08-18 05:18:10
See Full Story

Samsung used to be a consumer electronics brand that I appreciated and admired. I've owned several Samsung products over the years; in fact, I use one every day. I have a Samsung SyncMaster T240HD 24-inch monitor. It's a thing of beauty, actually, with a pleasing clear polycarbonate sort of frame with a touch of deep red layered beneath the clear plastic-like housing. I love it. The display is plenty sharp for me, quite adjustable, and best yet, this unit is also an HDTV and accepts all sorts of video input cables.

Is it Possible Not to Infringe?
Posted by: jadams123 2011-08-24 07:21:13 In reply to: Chris Maxcer
If Samsung have copied Apple's designs, it is a testament to how difficult it is to be unique in the 21st century, especially when we are talking about a rectangular box. From what I understand all hardware manufacturers are supposed to strive to have their equipment work on all platforms. Is that not the goal? Uniformity in software and hardware is what allow technology to more forward.

Is Samsung supposed to put wings on their pads to ensure they are not infringing on another patent. From where I am sitting, the only players that are making money are the lawyers who are making a killing at the expense of the consumer. I would love to know what percentage manufacturers build in for future legal expenses on their products. I am sure it is a considerable amount, considering the law business is known for outrageous pricing.

Samsung is known to copy
Posted by: casualsuede 2011-08-21 14:10:19 In reply to: Chris Maxcer