E-Commerce Times Talkback
|
|
|
See Full StoryAiming to carve out a spot in the peer-to-peer e-commerce space that has been dominated
by players like eBay and eBay-owned Half.com, Grab A Bargain.com
on Tuesday officially launched its fixed-price bargain marketplace for the buying and
selling of books, music and movies.
While notions of David versus Goliath -- or Netscape versus Microsoft --
may be conjured by some
industry observers, Grab A Bargain president and chief executive officer Peter Antunes
told the E-Commerce Times that Grab A Bargain.com is confident it can coexist with, if not
unseat, competitors eBay and Half.com.
Posted by: Sam Butler 2001-10-12 15:57:31 In reply to: ECT News
I recently came across a peer-to-peer program that seems to be putting a new twist on the auction/consumer marketplace. Just thought it would be worth a mention since I get the feeling they are targeting INDIVIDUAL consumers, not dealers.
PinPost (www.PinPost.com) is downloadable and includes classifieds listings targeted to specific cities and neighborhoods. For example, I was searching for a bike in Redmond, Washington, so I scrolled down to Redmond, then searched through several categories to get to a listing for a used bike for sale in Redmond. So I sent the guy an instant message through the application, and I'm going over to look at it in the next few days.
Posted by: Rick 2001-07-20 04:37:02 In reply to: ECT News
it comes up with our stuff!
Perhaps they have licensing with eBay to do so????
Posted by: Roger Diehl 2001-07-18 08:41:23 In reply to: ECT News
"Grab A Bargain, which boasts an inventory of more than 2 million items"
In two cases of sellers on EBay, I have found that all of their EBay listings are also
identical listings (description wise - I don't/won't get a bargain.com account - No one
needs my credit card number to simply become a member) on bargain.com.
The two cases are Ebay members frenchcab.com and stoutauctions.com. I have
notified these two as I find it "a little" strange that they are trying to auction the items
on EBay and simultaneously trying to do a "fixed price" sale on bargain.com.
SURPRISE !!
I just received a response from frenchcab.com, and what a surprise - they didn't know
anything about bargain.com. They say they aren't members and don't have an account
with them. They are "investigating" further.
Another small note is that "mysteriously" the bargain.com price quoted is exactly the
current bid price on EBay.
I also notified EBay, and I expect that you will be seeing soon
"Grab Your Socks, eBay Takes Aim at Bargain.com"
I feel that this "suspicious" behaviour should be an equal subject of an
www.EcommerceTimes.com press release. It looks like bargain.com scammed
you and Mark W. Vigoroso.
Posted by: sbreit 2006-03-01 16:45:14 In reply to: Roger Diehl
I know you posted this thread a long time ago, but I am interested in the questionable practices mentioned with Grab a Bargain.com. I would like to talk to you regarding any follow up related to the possible investigation you mentioned. I'd be happy to explain my interest and the details if you contact me. I'll give you my phone number if you send me a private message.
Scott B
Posted by: John 2001-07-18 02:36:15 In reply to: ECT News








Headline Feeds